Ladies and gentlemen, thank you for joining me in my annual music review for 2013!

I am happy to report that there were a great many incredible releases last year. Below are some of my top album picks, and for the first time, my top EP picks. Also, as is tradition, I’ve included a few releases which ultimately disappointed me.

It is always a pleasure to review the year past, I hope you found some new favourites yourself!


36: Lithea (3six Recordings)
Atom™: HD (Raster-Noton)
Autechre: Exai (Warp)
Rashad Becker: Traditional Music Of Notional Species Vol. I (Pan)
Black Swan: Redemption (Ethereal Symphony)
Charli XCX: True Romance (Atlantic)
Emptyset: Recur (Raster-Noton)
Geomatic vs. Lagowski: Cosmochemistry (M-tronic)
The Hafler Trio: A Cure for Kenophobia – An Empowerment in 4 Easy Stages – At Very Reasonable Rates (Vinyl-on-Demand)
The Knife: Shaking the Habitual (Rabid)
Adam Michalak: Returning to Essence (Silent Season)
Jon Mueller: Death Blues (Taiga)
TM404: TM404 (Kontra-Musik)
Voigt & Voigt: Erdingertrax (Kompakt)

Vladislav Delay: Ripatti 01 EP (Ripatti)
Diamond Version: EP 1-5 (Mute)
Refracted: Along a Ghostly Trail EP (Silent Season)
TM404: Svans EP (Kontra-Musik)
Tohuwabohu: Tohuwabohu EP (Nonplace)

Juan Atkins & Moritz von Oswald: Borderland (Tresor)
Factory Floor:
Factory Floor (DFA)
Mika Vainio: Kilo (Blast First Petite)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s